Annie's "Mir Descent" Page


They say that you don't really have to worry about MIR falling on your head.

12:58AM Friday March 23rd, 2001 has completed re-entry!!!

Set to crash into the southern Pacific Ocean on Friday at about 0630 GMT & 1:30AM ET.
It will not be visible in the skies of the US unless of course there are problems.

Mir Complete Coverage- Click Here For Hourly Updates from Space.com

Space.Com --- "The last of the trio of braking impulses is set to begin shortly after midnight (12:07 a.m. EST; 05:07 GMT; 8:07 a.m. Moscow time). This final firing will bring the station down before it can make another orbit around the planet. As Mir plunges into the thicker part of Earth's atmosphere, the heat and friction will first tear away the station's solar panels and cause the station's fuel tanks to explode. There is still a 2-percent chance that Mir will spin out of control during deorbiting, according to the Korolev center's chief ballistics expert, Nikolai Ivanov. Theoretically, the station can go into an uncontrolled dive anywhere between 52 degrees north and 52 degrees south latitude, Ivanov said -- a zone that is home to five out of six of Earth's inhabitants."
10:25 p.m. EST Thursday, March 22:

Lycos News - Counting Down --- "Japan has a serious case of the jitters ahead of the planned re-entry of the Russian space station Mir. (AP)"

ITN - "No one can control or predict exactly what will happen - but they know some big chunks - weighing around five to 10 tonnes each - will reach Earth. The slightest miscalculation could send parts of flaming space junk raining down over Australia or Japan - instead of falling into the Pacific Ocean as planned......."

BBC - "Russia has given final details of how it intends to bring down the redundant Mir space station. The platform is now set to crash into the southern Pacific Ocean on Friday at about 0630 GMT & 1:30AM ET."

SkyNews - "As Mir’s final farewell approaches, nations like Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Fiji, Tonga and Chile have all issued some kind of “watch out” warnings to their population...." -- Posted 8:30PM 3/21/01

ABC -- "Station Debris Will Take 40 Minutes to Hit Earth."

Space.Com --- Reentry Forecast -- 3/22/01 @ 12:30AM
First burn: 7:33 p.m. EST (00:33 GMT) for 20 minutes
Second burn: 9:02 p.m. EST (02:02 GMT) for 20 minutes
Third burn: 12:30 a.m. EST (05:30 GMT) for 23 minutes
Impact time: 1:30 a.m. EST (06:30 GMT)
Impact center: 44.2 of south latitude and 150.4 of west longitude

Information Below Quoted from Sky News - 3/20/01 @ 4:30PM:
MIR SPLASHDOWN FACTS:


Mir News Story Links:
3/23/01 - PM -
Fiery Crash
Mir Makes Fiery Plunge Into Pacific
Mir returns to Earth with fiery plunge into Pacific
3/8/01 -
Mutant fungus from space


Mir Descent Related Links:
Web Cast of Mir Reentry
SpaceDaily.Com- Space Stations
Mir Space Station
Where Is Mir Now?
Russian Space Agency (English)
NASA's Mir tracker
Russian MIR Space Station -- from PBS & Nova -- don't miss the Take a Tour of Mir page which is a VR tour of the MIR Space Station


News Site Coverage of Mir:
CNN- Mission Mir
Houston Chronicle Space Central
New York Times- Space Station Mir - must register
Historical highlights of Mirs notable events
The Mir space station from The Guardian Unlimited


Space Related Links:
International Space Station
NASA
ABC SciTech News
BBC Science News
CNN Tech- Space
European Space Agency
NASA Space Science News
Space.com


Related Pages by Annie:
Annie's Signs in the Sky Welcome Page
Annie's Signs in the Sky Links Page
Annie's End Times Page
Annie's Feasts of the Bible Page
Annie's Signs in the Sky - Solar & Lunar Eclipse Page
Annie's Groundhog Day Page Subtitled "Do you know the signs of the times?"
Annie's Earth Day Page Has some create Christian Science & Creation links to explore
Annie's "News in a Nutshell" Page

Click here to go to Annie's Home Page
Annie's Home Page

Annie's Featured Holiday Page
Have a "Happy Everything"!
Annie's Holiday Page

Annie's Featured Page

Annie's "Featured Page" Page


Email Annie

Copyright 2001 - 2002 Annie's Home Page. All Rights Reserved.
I thank the Lord for graphics artists without them these pages would not be the same.
Please visit
Annie's List of Great Graphics Spots for a list of their links.
Most graphics on this page from
Cute Colors. This site hosted by: Christian Web Host.

For a Listing of the Rest of my Pages:
Annie's Directions to My House - Banner - My Index Page